advanced stepper

daisy1

For anyone out there, I have been doing step aerobics for about 4 years and am having trouble finding step tapes that challenge me anymore. If anyone has any ideas for high-intensity, challenging step tapes, Cathe or otherwise, please let me know! Thanks in advance!

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON Jul-12-01 AT 10:44PM (Est)[/font][p]Well, I took step classes for about 3 years and considered myself an advanced stepper (also ran 30-40 minutes on the treadmill after class).

When I first tried PowerMax, I couldn't believe how tough it was. Tougher than any of the previous "advance" step classes I'd taken. I had to stop and take breaks with Cathe's tapes.

StepWorks, StepFit, PowerMax, MIC (half step, high hi/lo). If you don't think these are challenging, well, I salute you. :D

Interval Max is an interval tape, doesn't have complex choreography, but it's got to be the most challenging cardio tape of Cathe's.

CIA also puts out some pretty advanced step tapes, but they're slightly slower (BPM) than Cathe's newer step tapes.

RE: Interval Max 4-Ever!

I second the earlier response re Interval Max - I do believe it is the highest-intensity step tape on the market. Lots of truly plyometric intervals, not just rebounding off the balls of the feet and recruiting mostly calves, but half-time vertical jumps, half-time plyo-jacks, box jumps, half-time side-to-side slalom jumps, half-time plyo lunges ("Power Scissors"), airborne jacks and high tuck-jumps, etc. that recruit the quads, hamstrings and glutes for real power. Simple choreography, maximum work and benefits. It's a staple of my home routine.

Also, you may want to check out Reebok / Gin Miller's "Intense Moves" step tape - this is also based on interval training, and includes higher-intensity plyometric segments. It is less intense than I-Max, but higher intensity than most.

Good luck!

Annette

Mindy Mylrae