Hardcore Fitness Maniacs for Wed Oct 4

lorajc

Cathlete
Morning Fit Ladies -

This morning I did Tracey Staehle's Full Body Sculpt off of the Kickbox Challenge DVD. I used practically double the weights she used for most exercises. There were a few shoulder exercises I had to drop my weights down on. I really felt this workout in my shoulders (burning) and outer and inner thighs. I'm happy about the inner/outer thighs as I don't target them enough with floorwork. I then followed this (since it wasn't a real calorie burner) with about 15 minutes of the Kickbox Challenge workout.

This was a decent functional fitness type of weight workout. I felt it lacked in some areas but it makes a nice addition and compliments other workouts well, as it works different muscles. A lot of exercises were done balancing on one leg or the fitness ball to work your core. It had shoulder and bicep exercises I've never done before. The leg work is done lying down with a dumbbell on your leg and legs up on the fitness ball. Tracey is a good, non-annyoying instructor and is very professional. I like her. (My abs did not feel worked from that small amount in this workout).

I only did a bit of the kickboxing, but from what I did, I really liked it. The part I did was different enough to not be the same old same old....but easy enough to catch on easily. She intersperses higher impact moves e.g. jumping jacks, jump rope....but I also added plyo hops to moves, propulsion, etc. to make my HR climb higher. It's enough to do this with the workout. She does a move called the spider where (sort of like a total body toning move) you go down on your legs and arms (sort of like a table pose) and keep flipping from looking up at the ceiling to looking down at the floor. It's hard to explain. I've never seen anything like it so it does have some innovative stuff thrown in.