Oh Well.....

wonderwoman

Cathlete
I think the time has come that I have to stop working out as far as cardio/weights are concerned and start doing some prenatal yoga. I'm almost 19 weeks along. Everyday this week when I'm done in the gym my lower back starts to hurt something awful to the point that I have to stop what I'm doing and just sit. It doesnt hurt while I'm working out but begins when I'm on my way home. So if I work out then go home (I go to the gym at work) I cant do anything else so that if I have errands to run I cant because of my back.

I've decided not to work out today and see how I feel because I have to go to the mall after work.

What do you guys think?

Hi!

I'm no expert, but I think that you should probably talk to your doctor and see if it is okay to continue working out before you do anything. If you get medical clearance and you really would like to continue with a cardio and strength training program during your pregnancy (which are great if you can), you should book an appointment with a personal trainer who will help you address the back issue by modifying your program.

You have to listen to your body and your doctor. I wish I would have been more into fitness before and during my pregancies - it would have helped me get back into shape faster afterwards. (I was over 200 pounds with both my girls - yikes!) Luckily I had really easy pregnancies and deliveries (no drugs - my second was born at home.), but it sure was tiring to be carrying that extra weight on top of caring for a little one.

Whatever you choose to do, remember that it is all about the outcome - a healthy baby.

Good luck and enjoy your pregnancy!
Corrie

I would suggest a good, regular visit to the chiropractor.