Stability ball

TessGeo13

Hello all Catheletes! I am new to Cathe’s workouts. Just a couple of quick questions.

I am not new to working out but definitely not strong and am only used to low impacts.
I am in my early 50s. What workout are the best to start with considering my goals becoming fitter and stronger. ( losing weight is NOT my goal)

I see Cathe using a stability ball in many workouts. What are the benefits of using a stability ball?
Thank you!

Happy holidays!

Welcome and glad you found Cathe's workouts!

You'll probably get a bunch of different suggestions. For me, personally, I think her LITE series is a good one to start off with - her main workouts in that series are low impact, but she has bonus workouts that you can optionally add on that are higher-impact when and if you ever feel ready.

They're a great introduction to weights, as well. You might want to start off with a set of 3, 5, 8, 10 and 12-pound dumbbells. Eventually as you progress you'll find yourself wanting to try heavier and heavier weights.

Since you don't want to lose weight, I'd suggest keeping an eye on your weight when you start adding in strength training. You may actually gain some muscle weight (that's good!) which might set your scale off a bit, but if you find your weight's starting to go down, then you'll likely need to start eating more. Any time you build muscle, you start to increase your metabolism, which means you'll burn more calories even while at rest.

Stability balls are really good for core strengthening. Even if you're just sitting on one and not doing core-specific workouts, your core muscles are firing to keep you upright on the unstable surface. They're a great addition to your home gym, and Cathe uses them pretty frequently in a lot of her workouts - again, not just for core-specific exercises, but as additional challenge to hit your core while doing other exercises, like upper body weight work.

Hope this helps. Let us know what you decide to try!