weight training, squats

L

Liza

Has anyone modified their weights, squats, etc. after the 14th week? My doctor was explaining that squats with weights can damage the valsalva. basically causing those muscles not to be as helpful during delivery. I have cut my weights way down but am not sure if squats are ok or not? what about any other precautions? any help will be appreciated - Thanks!!

I believe the "valsalva maneuvre" occurs when people lift weights and hold their breath. It doesn't have to be squats -- it can be any sort of strenuous exertion. I'm not a doctor, but I am a certified aerobics instructor who takes courses from people with a lot more medical knowledge than I. They say that if you breathe properly (breathe out on the exertion, breathe in on the release, and never ever hold your breath) you won't hurt yourself.

I am in my 27th week and am still doing squats. I used to use 2 x 20-lb dumbbells, but have cut down to 2 X 12-lb because I was starting to gasp with the 20-lbs. The 12s are still comfortable and I am able to breathe correctly. As my lungs get more and more compressed, I'm sure I will eventually work myself down to no weight at all, but I do hope to be doing squats (maybe shallow ones!) right up until the end. I want to keep my nice strong legs and hips -- they will be helpful as I continue to get bigger!

Just a final note that this is what I am doing for myself, and my doctor is fine with it, but I am not qualified to give advice to anyone else. You should definitely listen to your doctor, but do ask "why" a lot if something doesn't make sense to you. It will be interesting to see what others' doctors have said about this issue.