Personal Trainer Appointment Today - Question Suggestions

carres1973

Cathlete
For my fellow "know-it-alls":p:

The gym I belong to offers two free personal training appointments for all members. I am just now going to take advantage and have my first appointment this afternoon at 5:30. The gentleman asked that I come with a towel, water, and two goals that I want to accomplish in the next 10-14 months. I have all that. I also want to make the most use of my time and go with a list of questions. I have the following questions on my list. Do you think they are too specific? What else should I ask? My goal is to lose weight and improve cardiovascular fitness. Do these questions fit in line with that?

1. Over the past year, I have lost and then gained the same 10 pounds. I have been focusing on heavy weight training for the past 6 months. Should I switch to endurance or circuit type workouts to encourage weight loss?
2. Light weights vs. heavy weights – which is better for weight loss? I enjoy gaining strength and enjoy heavy weight training but does it cause water retention and hence weight gain?
3. What percentage of a person’s 1RM should they use for different lifting style workouts? For example, what percentage should I use for endurance type workouts as opposed to heavy lifting where I would be at 80-90%?

Carrie

Where is Laura (the buff Laura) when you need her? :p I made a similar post a few mos. ago & she gave me a long list of Qs. I'll see if I can find it.

Ah, I found her questions in an email. Here they are (sorry if I'm stealing from you Laura, I know you're a bit busy at the moment):

1. How much experience does the trainer have? What are her/his credentials? How long have s/he been training?
2. Have you witnessed the trainer training his/her clients in the gym? How "present" is s/he? Meaning: does s/he focus solely on the client or does s/he spend time talking to other trainers/people in the gym?