Anyone else bugged by....

nkuangel

Cathlete
Diets that ask you to completely cut out or severely limit food groups such as fruits and healthy carbs? I just got my P90X and find that the diet is not only unrealistic but also unhealthy. I do not believe in "diets" that ask you to practically live off supplemental drinks and only one serving of fruit or two condiments, this is not compatible with life.
What is so wrong with eating by the food guide pyramid, actually if we lived by that standard we would be eating nothing but healthy things we would not have time to eat crap. I guess I am just frustrated because this so called "diet" is not compatible with everyday life. I am a college student and when most of my friends are out drinking or eating out I pack my lunch with some type of fruit, good carb or protein and I am doing just fine. I have been steadily losing weight while gaining muscle mass and strength.

I guess I am just writing this because I get tired of hearing the word "diet" because I don't consider what I am doing a diet its just eating healthy. So any of you P90Xer's follow the diet exactly, closely or not at all and what kind of results did you get?

I do know what you mean. I've had to deal with my FIL picking carrots out of his salad and my BIL asking his wife if watermelon is one his "diet." OK, I get the concept of glycemic index. But do carrots make us overweight? I think what pushes me to the edge is that they do these things in front of my daughters, and though I haven't asked them to stop, I have explained to my girls that fruits and vegetables are not our enemies! And I'd prefer for the word "diet" not to be part of their vocabularies, at least in terms of losing weight. I agree -- if we eat healthy, whole foods, and listen to our hunger cues, surely we can't be too far off base!

Allison