Any suggestions for dry, cracked hands?

BAM

Cathlete
Yes, it's that time of the year. My hands are quite dry and some of my fingertips are beginning to crack. Does anyone know of a good lotion that actually works? I'd prefer a non-greasy one for the day but would use a more emollient one at night if it really helps.

Thanks!
Bam

I'm a nurse, and my hands get even more chapped and broken down in the winter due to frequent washing. Even at home, my hands are constantly in the water!

the BEST thing that helps me is, smearing Bag Balm (sold in a green tin in CVS type stores) around my cuticles and dry spots. Then I put on an all over moisturizer (like aveeno) and put on cotton gloves before going to sleep. Even if you don't keep them on all night, it does a great job!

Frequent moisturing with good moisturizer too (aveeno or lubriderm)

~Chris

Thanks Chris! I guess old remedies work the best. That has certainly been around for a long time. I've gone to the wearing socks at night with moisturizer on my feet but haven't done the glove thing. Maybe I need to start thinking more northernly;-). Thanks again.

Bam

Vaseline Intensive care is the one I use, the original and best.

The secret though is to keep a tube of it by your bed, a tube by your computer, one by the sink in the kitchen and one in your desk at work and one in the car and one in your handbag. That way, you always have it near when you need it and can apply after every hand wash, before they get cracked and painful.

Clare

I like Neutrogena Norwegian Hand Cream and for a splurge, Occitane's hand creme with shea butter. I use both only at night though. FWIW, Bag Balm bothered my skin, gave me little bumps all over my hands. I have sensitive skin though.

Jonahnah
Chocolate IS the answer, regardless of the question.