5k On Mother's Day?

JAFitMama

Cathlete
Am I realistic in thinking I can run 5 k? OK here is my background. As many of you know , I use Cathe workouts exclusively, and have been since 1998. Running has always intiminated me. Last August I added treadmill running to my rotations for about 10 weeks and then went back to all Cathe. This April I added running again 2-3 times per week. 3.5 miles at a time running 2" (at 7.5"pace) /walking 1" ( at 14.2"pace) My friends want me to join them for a 5K on May 8. will I be able to finish? Or is this unreasonable? I have scheduled 3 more runs before May 8 and one day of Kickboxing. Other days are strength/endurance training and and abs.

Should I attempt this or is it too soon? Should I cut out my leg work next week or keep it up?

Judy
AKA "Likes2bfit"
sport-smiley-009.gif
http://www.click-smilies.de/sammlung0903/sport/sport-smiley-003.gif

Judy-I am by NO means an expert. I don't consider myself a runner either, so this is just my humble opinion...

ABSOLUTELY you can do it! A 5k is only something like 3.1 miles, and you're already doing that on your own. I say GO FOR IT! Show yourself y ou can do it.

I've done a bunch of reading on this topic, since I've just recently started running too. If you do the run next weekend, cut back on your leg workouts and your runs toward the end of the week. BY Wednesday, try to be done with any tough lower body workouts. Keep anything on Thursday, Friday and Saturday to upper body or low intensity lower body, like walking only.

GO FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!! YOU CAN DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Gayle

Hi Judy,

You will have no problem. Give the race a try, you will love it.

Let us know how it goes!!

Beverly