Will I ever get it?

strong@heart

Cathlete
Hi! I've been incorporating Cathe workouts into my exercise regimen for about 2 months now. Prior to Cathe, I used Firm workouts for 7 years and have used gym aerobic classes prior to that. I seem to be having some difficulty in following some of the step moves. Like for example, hop turns to the back and when the moves travel all over the bench switching alternate lead. I get so confused and although I am no novice when it comes to stepping, I find some of these moves very difficult to master even after watching them a few times. It is so frustrating! I am wondering if anyone else had some trouble in the beginning and how long realistically did it take to get most of her moves "down pat"? Thanks for any input!

I'm with Gretchen on this--hang in there! I too recently decided to attempt Cathe cardio, and like you, I felt a certain amount of frustration. I have gotten a few of her CTX step routines down, and I'm having a blast with them. Now I'm looking forward to learning Rhythmic Step, which for me, is saying a lot.

I did find myself getting lost when I had to turn my back to the tv. I found that if I stopped and watched what was going on before attempting the move, it helped tremendously. Take the learning process in small increments. It's mentally fatiguing to learn new choreography and if you're trying to do too much at once you'll end up feeling defeated.

I think that we all consider the components of fitness to be strength, cardiovascular endurance, and flexibility, but so many of us underestimate the value of coordination. Besides that, I feel like I'm utilizing some very under-utilized brain cells when
attempting to learn complex choreography, maybe in the process I'm adding brain mass!