weight lifting

trimbo

I have been lifting heavy weights for at least four years now. I have been trying everything I can think of to try to gain more muscle mass. I feel I am trying very hard, but am not seeing the visible results I would like. I recently got the Slow and Heavy series and Pure Strenght series. I really enjoy them. My question is, how long and how often do you do weight training to see the results you do? I lift usually 5 or sometimes 6 times a week for at least an hour. What do you suggest for better results? Thanks for your time!

Hi,
I am absolutely not an expert, but I would ask yourself the following questions:

1. When I am lifting heavy, am I lifting as heavy as I can so that I can hardly complete the last set? Am I reaching failure/truly challenging my muscles?

2. Am I allowing my body time to recover between sessions?

You say you are lifting 5 to 6 times per week--I wonder if your muscles are getting a chance to recover. You HAVE to let your muscles rebuild themselves--every time you lift you are breaking them down, and they don't have a chance to repair and gain strength. Cathe's suggestions on the PS series are to use them each once per week, going as heavy as you possibly can. I think it is the same fro S&H.
So....I hope that helped.
Wendy