Slim Fast

J

jenniferholmes

What do you guys think of slim fast?? Have you ever used it? Did it work well for you..

Thanks Jennifer

As a trainer, I would NEVER recommend this to my clients. There is absolutely no substitute for real unprocessed food. It is the old boring stuff again but fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean quality protein, etc. is the ONLY way to go. SlimFast will never help you establish a healthy relationship to food. You can't drink the stuff forever. Sooner or later--probably sooner--you will start eating real food again and you'll be exactly where you are now. We all have to deal with the fact that we are bombarded with food. The sooner we learn to balance our cravings and indulgences with good nutrition the better. I wanted to make one last comment. We cannot trick our bodies. Our body is not fooled with artificial sweeteners, diet shakes, etc. Studies have shown that Nutrasweet can really increase a person's cravings for food, making it more difficult to control the amount of calories you consume. Slimfast may do the same. I would reconsider and perhaps go see a registered dietician to help you make sound choices.

All my best, Cyndie (By the way, I myself have struggled with compulsive eating and over-exercising. I speak from experience.)

I couldn't have said it better! BRAVO!! SlimFast is nothing but fortified sugar water also. There simply is no quick fix (not that you are asking for one.)

Learn to love the taste of fruits, veggies, whole grains (compared to all that refined white stuff), legumes and/or lean meat. You really can change what you like to eat and feel so much better than you have ever felt in your life.

Mommy to Zachary, Jillian and.......
[/p]

Littlest one due on February 24, 2002
[/p]

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON Aug-17-01 AT 03:57AM (Est)[/font][p]I've been there, done that. All it did was make me gassy. Try holding THAT in the office all day.