I've never tried a Cathe workout - need help (I'm a Firmie)

Hi,

I've read about Cathe workouts on the Firm forum, and am interested in buying a DVD package. I love step aerobics, but I'm not very experienced, so I'd like a suggestion for a beginner Cathe step tape/dvd (if one exists!).

Also, how does Cathe compare to The Firm? I've checked out some of her video clips, and they look really impressive.

Thanks,
Amy

You might want to start with the Cardio Kicks/Circuit Max DVD or Cathe's Cardio Hits DVD (which is all step). For strength I love the Pure Strength DVD. It's broken down into chapters that make it easy to mix and match your workouts. Have fun.

Hi Amy,

Cathe's strength work is straight forward gym style lifting that exhausts the muscle. Most people find they can reach new strength levels using this method. The slower tempo with brief rests also allows one to use heavier weight. I think anyone can find the right Cathe tape for their strength training needs.

She does some circuit training that will kind of remind you of Firm workouts. Cardio then some strength, back to cardio. But it's "cleaner", there's plenty of time to grab an appropriate weight.

Cathe's cardio workouts are advanced - fast tempo, high impact. If your only stepping experience is the Firm, then I urge you to use some transition tapes (e.g. Gin Miller, Kathy Smith) to bridge the gap. Some people need to lower the impact of their cardio work & that takes some experience. With that in mind, some of the step experts here can direct you to the easier to learn cardio workouts. Some are "broken down" or explained more than others.

Welcome!!
Debra

Hi Amy!