Help! New to Cathe..equipment?

Hi everyone,

I'd love your advice on how to best start with Cathe's workouts. I've been doing the FIRM Transfirmer series for six months and have seen amazing results - I've never had muscle definition like this before! The problem is that I hate doing DVD cardio stuff - I hike 3-4 times a week (steep, uphill 3-4 mile hikes) and don't feel like I need it. There are not many FIRM dvds that don't have cardio - plus, I feel like the strength training parts of the FIRM are not challenging enough anymore. This is what has led me to Cathe.

So far, I've narrowed it down to one of these two DVDs to start with:

Cathe Friedrich's Intensity Series: Pyramid Upper & Pyramid Lower Body DVD
Cathe Friedrich's Slow & Heavy Series

Do you think these would be good DVDs to start with? Also, the only equipment I have right now are the Transfirmer steps and 3lb, 5lb, and 8lb weights. I am willing to buy a stability ball and maybe some 10lb or 12lb weights and ankle weights, but can't really afford to buy a barbell set right now. Can I still do the workouts in the above two dvds without a barbell?

Thanks for any advice you can give me!!!!!

Hi there and welcome!! Cathe's DVD's are amazing. I think you should begin with the Pyramids. It's a great tape and you only need hand weights. Yes she does use a barbell, but when I started I didn't have one and just used the hand weights and it was more than fine. I would get a stability too, the AB's section of this tape uses one and its so worth having.

If your thinking about getting a second one, my vote would be for Boot Camp/Muscle Endurance. The Boot Camp section is FABULOUS and Muscle Endurance is a great full body weight training tape.

After those 2, it's really up to you....I don't love Step, so I tend to stay away from those, but I did a few because of the weight training parts and have learned to do some of the step stuff.

Good Luck,
Elena