Best place to buy barbell set?

Hi all,

I am new to Cathe videos but am really getting hooked. I've been slowly increasing my endurance and coordination with Cathe DVDs and just so impressed with her videos. I'm in better shape now than I ever was going to the gym! I've mostly been doing step for cardio but ready to start weight training. I've lost about 40 lbs and have 20 more to reach my goal. I'm hoping to kick start a stubborn plateau!

Where is the best place to purchase a barbell set? Should I order on line or can I pick something up at my local Target or sporting goods store? What size weights do I need to start?

Thanks so much for any advice!

Nicole

Regarding SNM's recommendation - I bought a very similar WalMart set for about $35 in the store. I've had it for almost one year and am very pleased with it. Mine came with 10 and 5 pound plates so I also bought four 2.5 pound weight plates. They added versatility and helped when doing Pyramid Lower Body.

Linda M.

I have 2 sets of these, they are great. The bar that comes with the 55lb set is the same that comes with the 100lb. set, so it can hold more than 55lbs. I bought mine on Amazon a while ago for a great price and only $10 shipping, but last I checked the price went up.

Try also searching on craigslist.org. Sometimes folks pretty close by are selling for a decent price.

Carmen.

Nicole,

Congrats on your weight loss. That's fantastic. Lifting weights will defintely help you kick start that plateau!

The barbell set at Walmart looks great and good price....not sure where you live but I really like Sports Authority. I've gotten alot of my weights there....including my recent purchase of Olympic Weight set.

Good luck!

Congrats on your achievement Nicole!!! The ones from Wal Mart are the ones I have. I got them a couple years ago and they are still in great shape. I'll probably get the 100lb one so I can have more weights!!

Last edited: