Best for Backpacking?

jjphoto

I'm needing to get in better shape for some backpacking trips later this year. I've been pretty inactive for about a year now. I've read in many places that a step class is a great addition to a workout routine, but the only ones here are during work hours, so I ran across the Cathe site when researching.

I was thinking of getting this since I've never done any step before whatsoever. http://www.shopcathe.com/Original_Health_Club_Step_p/1011beginner.htm

Is that the place to start? Is that a good step to start off with? And what DVD would you recommend to do next after that? (thinking of getting it at the same time)

Carrying 40 pounds on your back in the wilderness can get pretty grueling and I want to make sure I'm in tip-top shape! Any help is greatly appreciated.

I think that's a great place to start. I also recommend looking at Cathe's 3 month beginner's rotation:

http://www.thecathenation.com/forum/showthread.php?t=236223

It's in the Rotations forum. You say you've been inactive for a year, if you were previously fit your level will most likely progress quickly. So if the above rotation looks too easy for you, there's also an intermediate rotation. Let me know if you need the link.

I love backpacking and working out with Cathe definitely makes it much more comfortable. While cardio capacity is nice, I think strength is what makes it easier. I highly recommend weight training. Go easy at first and as you improve you can add to your work out collection. Good luck and enjoy!

And welcome to the world of Cathe!

anne

Thanks mrsmel! I looked at that link and it looked like a whoooooole bunch of different videos with a whooooole bunch of different equipment. I'll have to try to figure out what all is needed.