What to do?

tlc

Hi Cathe, I have never posted a question to you before, so I thought it was about time I did. I have been working out with you for probably 12-13 Yrs.. I love all you do, you are such a positive role model. I'm so glad you are healing,and doing well. I cant wait to get your new dvds. I own about everything you have ever made. I guess I should get to my question. I'm 47yrs young and in good shape ( I guess) I have been really focusing on my upper body the last 3 months. I was doing only about 3 days of cardio which really seemed to work, and then suddenly my pants felt tighter so I thought I would increase back up to 5x a wk for 45-60min. Well all I'm noticing now is I dont have the energy when I do it, and I feel very irritable. Its not because 'm being lazy its just really tiring when I"m also doing 1 hr. or more of weight training 4 days a week plus I try to get in a yoga wkout 2-3 x a week. Is this effecting my progress for muscle definition? Should I go back to 3x a week cardio? How long should my cardio be? I'm sorry this is so long, I would really appreciate your advice. Thanks so much. TLC

If you post your question to the Open Discussion forum you'll likely get a lot more responses.

"You can't win them all - but you can try." - Babe Zaharias http://www.clicksmilies.com/s0105/musik/music-smiley-004.gif[/img]

Not Cathe here, but it sounds to like your endurance has dropped, which is normal when you decrease the amount of cardio you do.

I'm in the same boat with you. About 2 months ago, I dropped to 3x cardio/week, and did GS the other two days. I'm just this week taking it back up to 4 days/week with cardio, and I'm struggling a bit. It'll come back, it'll just take a bit for your body to build back up to working that hard.

And for the irritability, for me it's that weight workouts don't seem like "workouts" to me, since I'm not panting and sweating hard. Maybe that's what's getting you down?