What age to start working out

robyn6002

Cathlete
Hi. I'm new to the cathe tapes, I'm finishing up a 90 firm rotation and am going to be starting on a cathe/firm rotation. I can't wait I'm getting the new package in a few weeks.

I've got a 14 year old daughter she does field hockey but the season just ended and we want to work out together - what is the recommendation for teeenagers doing cathe tapes. Her goal is not to put on a lot of muscle but to keep fit.

Wow, that's a good question!

I haver read that teenagers (not sure how young) need to be careful about weight training because they are growing so quickly and their joints are still forming, so too much weight training too soon could set them up for potential injury. However, I don't know if that's still true, OR if it's true for a girl your daughter's age, OR if it's true for Cathe's tapes! I'm sure it will have more to do with frequency, intensity, form.

I know that when I was about that age - a little younger - I ran, and played basketball and soccer. For basketball practice we did some modified weight/circuit training - course this was in the 70s so we didn't actually lift serious weights, but we threw medicine balls around, did pushups, old fashioned squat thrusts and I guess plyometrics (hopping back and forth over a bench, etc). I also remember getting some dumbells and following a program I found in a book. I don't THINK it hurt me, but you never know for sure.

The only thing I want to caution about is if she's lean, watch that she doesn't develop ammenorhea (sp?). I did in my last year of high school, not through dieting but through too much activity and since I didn't talk to my mom about such things and I was generally ignorant, I just thought it was convenient. Sure wish I had known better.

Hope you get some other answers - and congratulations for being a fitness role model for your daughter! Mine is barely 2 - but I hope to do the same!

Sophie