Too much muscle

Manny

Help me!!!! What am I doing wrong??? I worked out a couple of years ago and lost a ton of weight and was in great shape. Unfortunately I took a couple years off and have put some pounds back on. I have been working out for about 4 months and haven't lost a pound.....problem is I am gaining too much muscle. I have tried everything to lose the weight and it won't budge. I gain muscle very, very easy and I don't want to. Not sure what I can do that will start me to lose weight and lose the muscle I Have. I am very short and now stalky and built.....too much I think. Now that I am working out I find I am gaining more weight!!!! I have already put on 10 lbs.....want to lose at least 12 but man am I getting discouraged as I see the scale climb!!!! Is there such a thing reducing your muscle mass and becoming more sleek yet toned???

Can anyone help me???

Manon

Hi. Not Cathe here, but you asked for help.:p

This sounds to me like you would have to stick to endurance-based training, like Power Hour or Muscle Endurance and circuit-styled workouts like Circuit Max, Cardio and Weights, HSTA, HSC, The Terminator dvd, etc and kickboxing. I think that would be your ticket. Just my thoughts on your dilemma.

HTH!

runathon

Hi Manon! I agree that perhaps you should try doing more endurance based strength training workouts along with steady state 45 to 60 minute cardio activities. Another thing to consider if you aren't already doing so, is that along with these workouts comes clean eating which has to be strictly adheared to if you want to see a difference. Working out can definitely spike an appetite so I find that you have to be sure to have good foods prepared ahead of time so that you don't binge on preservative loaded quick fix foods when famished.

Stay focused and committed!
Good luck!