piriformis syndrome

gettingfitmom

Cathlete
Cathe, I've been running and doing your tapes for 3+ years.(I love them!)In the last 3 weeks, i've added 1 mile to my running. I have also developed a deep pain in my butt. i have done a little research and it all points to piriformis syndrome. I got some stretches to do, I noticed most of thease you do in your cool downs. I also notice the pain in some heavy lifting. Any other advice other than stretching and rest? I have no pain down my leg. It doesn't hurt to run, just afterwards and sometimes the following day. Thank you! Kay

Hi Kay...not Cathe....but I have had piriformis. I feel heavy lifting can make this worse so no weights or light weights is better. Just avoid anything that makes it hurt. Also if you can find a massage therapist familiar with piriformis syndrome they can help a GREAT deal, but it can be very painful to massage out. You can also self massage with a tennis ball. Put a tennis ball on a hard surface and sit the sore part of your tush on it. Then do circles massaging for a few minutes a day. I hope this helps and that your pain diminishes quickly...:)

Carol, Thanks for the info. I found some stretches to do, it reaaly pulls on the muscle, but it does feel a little better afterwards. I was talking to my sister today, and she mentioned the tennis ball, I'll give it a try. i decided to take a week or 2 off from running, maybe walk or ride a bike... Thanks again:) Kay

Hi Kay! I am in the same boat. My pain got so bad I could barely walk. I have been getting better with stretching, the tennis ball trick, cutting my mileage in half and trying not to sit too much. I still weight train, I just go easy with the weight. I find I have the most trouble doing dead lifts. I think for me it is just going to take time to go away. I hope we both get better soon! :) Liz