Menopause - Help!

melagras

Cathlete
I just turned 50 and menopause is kicking me in the butt. I've been doing the monthly Cathe rotation since Oct 2010 (used my own rotation of Cathe DVDs before that time) and am seeing some muscle toning but very little weight loss. I've never been a lazy person and this is really blowing my mind. My doc said my thyroid levels are fine. Any suggestions?

I'm 46 and have been experiencing menopause symptoms for about a year and a half (yuck!). I've experienced the same thing with slow or no weight loss and the only thing that I've learned that has worked is increasing your workouts both weight training and cardio (ESPECIALLY cardio like hiho322 said above), plus really cleaning your diet up. I've also learned that I've had to reduce my calories more than usual to see weight loss (even while working out). I'm guessing it might be because I'm older and not requiring as much calories (who knows!). It's such a complicated thing to figure out since every woman experiences different problems with menopause. But keep at it and I know you'll find what works for you!

Julie

I'm having the some of the same difficulties; over the last year or so I've seen my weight slowly climb up even with all the exercise I do. I'm 52. My goal this year is to focus on losing all that weight so I've cleaned up my diet & I've been revving up my workouts. One thing I do, if my legs are giving out, is emphasize my arm movements. I'm not too big on jumps so I modify a lot but by adding extra umph with my arms, it makes a difference with my heart rate. Like Julie, I've also discovered that I don't need as many calories even with working out but I have to eat really clean & add more water. It's all trial & error but keep working at it & find what works for you.

I'll be 60 in April and finely cooled down after 15+ years.