Finding Time to Workout - My Sister Needs Advice

shakeubooty

Cathlete
I know this question has come up before but I'm asking this question for my sister, Sherryl, who is one busy lady and just joined Weight Watchers. I gave her some advice but I'm not a fitness professional so I wanted Cathe and the "educated crowd" to give their valuable opinions also. In case you're wondering, she is a beginner exerciser and owns no Cathe tapes but a stepper, 2.5 & 5 pound dumbbells. She is considering buying more equipment though or asking for it for Christmas. Here's her question:

"I have a hard time fitting time in for exercise. If I sit down when I get home, I'm done. Can't seem to bring myself to get up off the couch once I sit down, unless I'm baking. If I have an evening meeting, I like to come home and relax awhile before going to bed. Maybe the best time but then it takes awhile to fall asleep...."

"Or, can get up early at 5AM or 5:15 this works, but I can only seem to do that a few times a week. Usually have to stop at 5:50 to get things done in the morning. Gives me 35-50 minutes. Maybe this enough??"

"It's a challenge, but I am committed to finding a way to make this all work."

I workout when I get home from work. First I have a little snack, check voicemail, relax a little, but I don't plop on the couch at all. After an hour or so of "outgassing" the unmitigated horror of being at work :) I start my workout. I'm usually done by 7 or 7:30, then I eat, shower and plop! Sometimes I do some active housework, like vacuuming or rug-shaking, to overcome inertia. Maybe some of this will help your sister. I absolutely cannot workout in the morning, even on a weekend. It is simply not going to happen.