Endurance vs Heavy Weights

Terri1222

Cathlete
Cathe:
Really would like your advice here.

I am 5'2", about 110 lbs on a GOOD day! (I'm one of those rare few that fights to keep my weight UP)

Anyway, I've been working out for about 20 years now (I'm 41) and I've always done heavy weights so I can get a bit of "bulk". I've noticed that when I just switched to all endurance work, I lose some of that bulk but I tend to get a bit more definition and it's definitely made me alot stronger!

While I'm not looking to become a bodybuilder or anything, I was wondering how I can keep both....bulk AND definition. My first thought was to do heavy lifting at the gym one day a week and then do endurance training, working those same muscle groups, at home with your tapes another day that same week (not to ignore all the other days of the week where I do kickboxing, step aerobics, etc). This way I figured I'd be working each body part twice a week, but in two different ways....heavy and endurance.

HOWEVER, my husband insists that I should do like a MONTH of heavy weight workouts and then do the next month of all endurance training workouts. ????

Help! What do you think????

(FYI, I LOVE the new tapes....each and every one is spectacular!!!)

Thanks so much for all your help!

Hi Cathe!