Becoming a fitness pro

caricampbellcool

Dear Cathe,

I currently work as a CPA but I hate the accounting profession.
My dream is to own my own gym but I figure I need more background before I do so. I am thinking of becoming ACE certified in personal training, group instruction, and nutrition, and hopefully working in a gym before I attempt to own one.
My questions are, how do I get experience teaching aerobic classes, and do you think that the market is to flooded for me to successfully gain employment? I am afraid the pay cut will be too dramatic and I will end up destitute. How much money do you think I can earn if I work in a gym? I know these are vague questions, but I want to do this very badly and I need guidance!
Do you think my plan can work?
Thank you very much.
ps-your videos are the best!

Hi, Cari! I'm not Cathe by any stretch, but I thought I'd make a few suggestions, just things for you to think about if you want to make a career change into the fitness area:

1. Getting certified through ACE is an excellent idea, and you may also want to think about joining IDEA (www.ideafit.com), a membership organization (not a certifying body) for fitness professionals. It has a wealth of information for budding fulltime fitness pros, facilities managers, group fitness and training coordinators, etc. - lots of good business information as well as technical info. Also, it regularly does industry surveys regarding compensation, working hours and conditions, credentials needed, etc.;

2. If you want to become a group fitness instructor, take many classes in a variety of different modes (step, kickbox, hi/lo, aqua, cardio-strength, urban rebounding . . . you get an idea how long the list is) and figure out which modes you enjoy the most. Get good at these, and research the workshops available to learn how to instruct them;