Am I doing too much?

alison13

Cathlete
Hi Cathe,

I was just reading your post on how you like to workout. Currently, I had been doing 30-45 minutes cardio x 6 days every week. Also, each of those days, I do 15 minutes of ab work. Also, every other day, I do upper body weights or lower body squats, lunges, etc. I've been doing this workout for 3 months, and haven't seen very much of a change. I don't want to lose weight, just get more toned. I eat alright...but not perfect.

What do you think about what I have been doing? It seems difficult to sort through all the exercise do's and don't's on the internet. Can you help? I'm going to start your beginner rotation on Monday (I haven't done Step for a LONG time). Will that get me closer to my goal in 3 months?

Thanks so much for your time.

Alison

Hi!!! Not Cathe here, but you kinda sound like me. I finally had to switch it up and REALLY watch what I eat. I was w/o 6 or 7 days a week, weights every other day (topping out at about 12lbs for arms and 20 for legs), and abs everyday. Was busting my butt and getting nowhere.

I now do 2 days of cardio, normally a step then a kickbox, then a day of full body weights. I always do abs on weight days, and every now and then on a cardio day, if I'm feeling ambitous. I personally don't think its good to do step for all your cardio or to do abs everyday. And I really pay attention to what I eat. As cheesy as it may be, I started a food diary, and I let my hubby look at it at night. Knowing that someone else is going to read it, really helps me watch what I put in my mouth. I've dropped 10lbs and 1 size in 8 wks, and can definately see more definition.