1 Rep Max Testing. Do I reeeeaaallllyyyy have to...?

emigliori

Cathlete
I would love to hear from anyone and everyone regarding their experience with 1 rep max testing. I have never done it before and the dread factor is in full blown attack right now. It seems like an inordinate amount of time to dedicate and I would really like to jump into the Xtrain 90-day undulating program.

So, has anyone done a program with and without 1 rep max testing and did you notice a significant difference in outcome?

I have several cathe weight workouts, including Pyramid Upper/Lower, Gym style, Supersets, Push Pull, 4DS, LIS, etc, so I have a general idea of what might be challenging.

The truth is, I really just don't feel like doing it, but if it is going to make a big difference then I will.

Any insight anyone can offer would be very appreciated.

Thanks!!

Elizabeth

I am sure it would make some difference. I did one rep max for my STS rotation in 2011. However, I am not doing it this time. I am like you, I dread it and it is more of a pain for me than anything. Also I gauge my weights as I lift them and keep track in my head.

If there is any dread factor, I avoid them like the plague when it comes to my workouts. I want to keep them up and any dread will hinder that.

In a word - NO. Obviously, there are benefits to it if you have very specific and challenging goals. However, if you ensure you are challenging yourself in each workout, and keep track of what you're doing along the way, you'll be just fine.

I've never done it before (though I do plan to when I start STS in March) and I've always gotten great results. I just always try to lift to failure based on the number of reps being done. I learned that from ChaLean Extreme and have done it in every workout I've done since.

I am going to test it this time, tho. I plan to do all of the Xtrain strength workouts twice using my method, then do 1RM and see how my method stacks up agains 1RM. Should be interesting!