WHATS the difference between Kettlebells and Dumbells?

you might get more responses in the open discussion forum...but I'll give you my thoughts as I am just dipping my pinkie toe into this new style. It seems to work your muscles differently...almost a more functional type of workout as it is very dynamic. I've been working out with Cathe for over 10 years and have only done AOS Providence twice, but HOLY DOMS after the kettlebell workouts!!! The movements are still controlled (or should be ;) ) but go through a larger range. Squats in a KB workout are a** to the grass style and definitely go deeper. Am I going to forego Cathe strength DVDs? NO!!! I see it as a great crosstraining tool and it really gets your HR up there, so I'll use it in place of DVDs like bootcamp, cardio and weights, etc. Check out youtube for KB demos or go to www.performbetter.com for more. Several Catheites have a WAY more experience than me...but I think KBs are a winning companion to Cathe DVDs
take care
julie

I think this excerpt from an EZine article by Stephanie Hofstetler covers the differences pretty well. Personally... I LOVE LOVE LOVE Kettlebells and can't imagine going back to traditional weight workouts now. I still LOVE Cathe for her core work, stretching and other types of workouts, but dumbells are mostly a thing of the past for me now.

"A kettlebell workout differs significantly from free weight or dumbbell exercises. Although they have a lot of similarities with dumbbells, kettle bells engage all 38-core muscles because merely picking it up triggers instability since the center of gravity in a kettlebell exists on a vertical rather than a horizontal plane.

When you pick up a dumbbell, the handle is directly in line with the wrist. There is a direct line of what is called "Applied Force." This is because the dumbbell is symmetrical due to its balanced grip.