Veggie check-in!

phoenix130

Cathlete
Hi everyone,

This is a check-in thread for anyone who is vegan or vegetarian or if you are just transitioning or just plain old interested in what it is and what is involved.

I have never been a big meat-eater (the food and other considerations). I started eating ground beef and chicken (basically the only things I would eat) because I thought I had to eat something to get my iron and protein requirements. But I never really liked it that much. I always was a kind of vegetarian even though I didn't know it and really had no idea how to eat either.

My turning point became when I hit my highest weight ever and knew it was time to take control of my health again. I'm at risk for diabetes (it's all over my family) and I picked up this book by Dr. Neal Barnard about reversing diabetes that convinced me to finally just make the switch and become vegetarian. So five weeks ago, that's what I did.

I'm still learning...still VERY new at all this! But I have to say that I have never felt better and have started to lose weight again. I'm trying to find good recipes and learn more so that I am meeting all my nutritional requirements and trying to find all these new foods that I didn't know anything about before.

So feel free to join me here on this check-in and we can share information!

Hi Nancy, thanks for starting this!

Way back in the day I was the unhealthiest.vegetarian.ever. I mean, maybe technically a pound of white pasta swimming in butter and buried in cheese is "vegetarian" but I was really missing the boat.

No surprise I was exhausted, bloated, fat, and crabby. A practitioner said I really needed to get some animal protein in me. So I did.

Fast forward 20 years later to current day. My diet has evolved - whole foods mostly, some actual vegetables appear, but still having meat, dairy, eggs.