Advice Request for Fitness Freak

cyclinggirl

Cathlete
Hi Fitness Freak,

I'm fairly new to the Cathe forums and looking for some specific advice. I've seen your posts and your photos and I'm inspired. You look incredible!! Congratulations on your continued success! Any insight you can give is greatly appreciated.

Some background about me...I've been active most of my life, started working with weights at age 11 and have been exercising, cycling, running, and weight training (intermittently) for the last 27 years. I have a healthy diet, I learned about nutrition after struggling as a fat kid.

Anyway, I'm 4 months pregnant with my first child now and have chosen to stop road racing and avoid risky road conditions -- I had a miscarriage last year and want this child to be as safe as possible. I ride once a week at a moderate pace on a hybrid, just to get out there and feel like I'm still involved. But I'm mostly doing weight training and aerobic work with Cathe's DVDs. I've been tracking my workouts over the last 6 weeks and I average 5-6 hours a week. Usually 1 hour a day, 1 day off, and 1 day that's a light short workout of 30 minutes.

I'd like some advice on how best to mix things up with my DVDs and training. I'd like to keep my weight gain steady but reasonable as the baby grows. I'm 5'6" and usually 128lbs during cycling season and 132-135lbs off season. As expected, without my intense cycling -- 125-200 miles a week -- my body doesn't resemble my top training physique. So my main goal for now is burn fat and tone my arms, shoulders, and back so they're closer to what I'm used to. I'm usually pretty ripped just from riding and push-ups/chin-ups (and some 3-5lb weights using a Bosu trainer). My legs will never look like they do without that much cycling, but I'm okay with that. I'm confident I can get them back later.