Where to start? New to Cathe

Candiceena

Cathlete
Hi all,

I am new to this forum. A little background on me - I am 24yo female, and I would say a beginner exerciser. A few years ago I was working out pretty consistently with the FIRM dvds, which I enjoyed, but in a cross-country move I lost all of them.

I'm really wanting to get back to doing my workouts after making some very positive changes in my life (I have quit smoking and also given up alcohol after some personal issues with it - I have been smoke-free and sober for about 7 months now). I am interested in starting with the Cathe workouts now, but I am kind of confused on where/how to start - what videos should I buy, what equipment, etc. I am pretty sure I will love her vids after watching some youtube previews, but I am also a college student on a budget too so I don't have *too* much money to spend.

Any advice/recommendations? Also are these boards pretty active for check-ins and the like?

Hi Candiceena,

I just started doing Cathe DVDs only a few months ago. I would probably defer to some of the more veteran Cathletes here as to where you should start, but wanted to respond to keep your post near the top of this section.

As for equipment, I don't have a lot of space for storage, so I try to keep everything to a minimum. However, I think there are just a few inexpensive things that, if you had them, would allow you to do a whole range of Cathe DVDs.

1) one set of light weights (3-5 lbs) and one set of moderate/heavy weights (8-10lbs)
2) a stretch band
3) a Firewalker loop
4) Slide/Glide discs
5) And if you have extra cash or want to give someone a gift idea for you, a full-sized step with two sets of risers

Items 1-4 are not expensive and don't take up a lot of space. However, it gives you quite a bit flexibility to do a variety of Cathe's DVDs.

The board overall is active and Check-ins and Challenges seems to be a fairly active area of the forum.

Last edited:
Welcome!