Tips for starting the STS rotation!

pbjenny

Hey all!

I'm a newbie. I'm a yoga / cardio junkie - and have decided with the new year that I want to switch up my routine and gain some MUCH NEEDED muscle (I'm "skinny fat" aka <-- long and lanky but no muscle). I really like the comfort of knowing that I have a plan - so I've decided to go with the STS *strength only* rotation. I really want to focus on gaining strength and mass, so am trying to keep my cardio to only 2 - 3 days / week. I was wondering if it would be overkill for me to pair STS with XTrain and do a split like this:

Monday: STS Meso 1 Disc 1 (Chest Shoulders Biceps)
Tuesday: STS Meso 2 Disc 2 (Back and Triceps)
Wednesday: Cardio / Legs
Thurdsay: XTrain (Chest Back and Shoulders)
Friday: XTrains (Triceps and Biceps)
Saturday Cardio / Legs
Sunday: OFF / yoga

What's most important to me is a.) not getting bored with my workouts, and b.) developing as much strength and muscle as I can.

Any tips would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks so much!

Hi pbjenny,
Congrats on your exciting new approach to fitness!
In response to your question, yes, I think the rotation above is going to be too much heavy weight lifting, given that you're new to lifting. Your body is going to need to recover after the strenuous STS workouts and you need to allow time for that. Those muscles are built during the recovery time.

When you say 'cardio/legs', do you mean cardio and legs in the same day? For me, at least, I never want to do cardio on a leg day, since legs are cardio-intensive and cardio is leg-intensive. If you want to double up cardio w/ weights, I suggest doing it on an upper body weight day.
If your goal is to built muscle, I suggest keeping your cardio to a couple short HIIT sessions a week. (Or one steady state, one HIIT, if you prefer.)
Also, metabolic stuff tends to be leg-intensive, so why not do a metabolic day instead of a second leg day?

So here's another way you could do it: