Anyone have Nike+??

jcm

Cathlete
I'm training for my first half marathon in May. So far I've only done 5ks. Most of my runs will be on my treadmill (due to kids) but my long run will be outside. I'm not very experienced at pacing myself (5k pace, long slow pace) nor do I usually run anywhere except a 7 mile trail w/ mile markers. I need something to help me w/ distance and pace but holy cow - that Garmin Forerunner (most) look like overkill for what I need. Just wondering if the Nike+ is accurate? I've read mixed reviews.

Jen

I can tell you from experience that - no, it's not accurate. I've had mine for almost 2 years and although it can last forever, it is extremely inaccurate! Mine started out within 1/10 of a mile off only. Now, I'm lucky to get within 1/4 to 1/3 of a mile within the actual mileage! When you're running a specific distance and you want to know when to increase your pace towards the end, that can make or break (usually break) you!

My DH just got me a Garmin for my birthday and I love it! They are pricey and do have tons of fun tools, but if it's more than you need, it's not what you want to spend that kind of money on.

If you have an iphone, Nike+ now offers an app for your iPhone, 3rd gen or higher, that uses GPS, so it's more accurate than the sensor. I think it's only $1.99 - a big difference from the standard Nike+ and most definitely cheaper than a Garmin and should be adequate for your needs.

That's pretty much what I've read. I know Garmin is best - Amazon had the 205 today for $99. That thing is HUGE! It's like wearing a computer on my wrist. This is my first time w/ stuff over 9 miles. I just can't run up and down the same path every weeks - I'll go nuts!