Intensity of exercise while trying to get pregnant

bethanyk

Hi all! I'm new to the forum, this is my first time posting. I am just wondering about exercise intensity while trying to get pregnant. It took me a little while to get pregnant with my first two - not that I had to see a fertility doctor, nothing like that. It just doesn't happen right away for me, either. I was NOT such a hardcore exerciser before I had my tots, I only really got serious about it 2 1/2 years ago. I was taking a judo class, though, when trying to get pregnant with my first, and she took 9 months to get pregnant with. During that time, my cycle was really off (I'm usually like clockwork) and I kept getting pregnancy symptoms, but I'd take a test and it would be negative. As soon as my class was over, I got pregnant.

So, I'm just wondering if exercising too intensely could affect my chances of getting pregnant again? I don't want to come down in intensity just on the chance that I could get pregnant, but I also don't want it to hinder my chances either. Maybe I'm just asking for too much, huh? :) Thanks in advance for any responses!

I wish I knew the answer to your question! We've been trying for 1.5 years but things are unlikely due to my irregular cycles. Like you, I was more regular when I wasn't exercising so much. The other part is body fat - are you too low?

My first pregnancy ended in miscarriage so after that happened, I upped the intensity and was actually just looking forward to working out hard for the mental break and ended up pregnant again a few months later. I don't think the intensity affected me but for some women, lower body fat percentage can hinder your cycle.

Thanks ladies!

Thanks for the responses. I'm glad to know that some of you have gotten pregnant while still doing some pretty intense exercise! I'm pretty sure it's not a body fat issue, I'm at a very healthy/normal weight. And Bethany, I feel your pain! It's a frustrating wait!

Hi!