Does alot of jumping while pregnant hurt or bother the baby?

sarah2184

Hi, this is my first time on this forum. I am 14 weeks pregnant and haven't been able to work out for the last three months because I have felt so ill. Before this I worked out with all Cathe's dvds with ease. Know that I am feeling better I would like to start working out again. Is it ok to start with the same intensity as before or should I start slower. I ordered shock cardio and would like to try them, but does a lot of jumping hurt or bother the baby while inside? Are you only supposed to do low impact exercises? Any input would be greatly appreciated!

I do not know the scientific answer to this but I will tell you when I was pregnant with my first about 11 years ago (he's 10), I worked out pretty much every day and he practically came out of the womb bouncing/jumping and has not stopped! He's got classic ADHD. Do I think my exercising did that? Not really, but it's a funny story when you see how much he really does bounce/jump. But, he was born five weeks early (my water broke, I did not go into labor and we had to induce) and I do think the exercising might have come into play with that -- hard to say. His umbilical cord was wrapped around his neck and nearly half as long as a typical cord, so, he did need some assistance!

I am no doctor, but ask yours what they think is appropriate. My doctor told me to do anything I did before I got pregnant. I worked out up until the day I delivered, even did Body Max 2 the day before. I ran through my pregnancy, stayed as healthy as I could. When my son was born with a scary genetic disease, hemophilia, I could have easily gone into depression. I believe that exercise helped me stay positive. He is healthy in all respects (despite hte hemophilia) and has a great demeanor. He loves to go int hte jogging stroller every morning, and I swear he remembers the womb! Ask your doctor, wear a heart rate monitor. And, listen to the body.

Sarah,