yoga/pilates rant

pixie9

Cathlete
Hi all,
I'm not wanting to start a fight or anything here. I just wanted to share some thoughts I've been having concerning yoga and pilates. First off, I'm a pilates instructor but I'm not into yoga anymore. I've gone through many spurts with yoga though so I'm not unfamilar with it. My thoughts are this:

I think there are many great benefits to these forms of exercise but I feel that there are many misleading ideas about them. After going to many conferences and making some observations of my own, I really think that people are misled into believing that they can lose weight/get smaller/or get leaner muscles doing yoga and/or pilates. As a personal trainer, I've learned that losing weight has to do more with what you do or don't eat, and how much cardio you do. Of course weight training is also so important and after losing weight, probably should become the most important part of your workout but I digress. Also, the muscles in our body are as "long" as they are ever going to be. The idea of permantly stretching out a muscle is very misleading. You can bulk up of course and you can lean out through various means of diet and exercise, but you can never "stretch out" a muscle and make it permanently longer. It just isn't possible.

People come to my pilates classes hoping to lose weight or "lengthen" their body as a result, and are disappointed to learn that that isn't going to happen. They may get a stronger "core" or learn how to have better posture from it, but they aren't going to be able to see any changes if they have extra fat. So this is what I've learned: you can get more flexible from doing yoga and you can get a stronger core from doing pilates. HOWEVER, you can get more flexible in general if you just stretch after your workouts and incorporate stretching into you life and you can get a stronger core if you learn to use your core correctly during exercise and daily life.