running

runfree

Cathlete
I have been running for about seven yrs but the past few months I have been struggling running just 3 miles. I dont know whats going on. I feel like a begginer. I do have asthma and the warmer weather makes it harder for me but this is really discouraging. Was wondering if anyone else has experiienced this and did you come out of it? I havent had the longing for races either the past 3 yrs and I keep having people wanting me to sign up for races. I wish I wanted to like I use to. I just dont have the desire to race but I do love running but I also would like to get that back but have yet to get there. Please any advice to getting my stamina back with running would be greatly appreciated. I teach bootcampl 2x week and workout regularly so its not from taking a long break. I do fine for shorter cardio workouts or up to a mile but then I lose it, no stamina or something. thanks.

As a regular runner in my twenties the only time I ever suffered this was when I was at the end of an undergrad semester, absolutely exhausted, under the weather and anaemic. I could barely finish my usual 5 mile runs, was dragging just trying to walk upstairs and around campus. The body can recover from this easily enough with rest.

So, check your iron levels, get extra sleep and take a month off from running. You need a break after 7 years of the same activity. Meanwhile, do other cardio and weight training and sporting activities but not running. Your body and mind need a break from this. Motivation wil return once you can view the sport from fresh eyes again and this will probably not come until after a break.

If you stay in shape in the meanwhile with HiiT, plyo, intervals, powerwalking, steady state cardio, bootcamp, weights, mixing it up, I promise you this will keep you in good enough shape to bang out 5 miles when you return to running. I just had this experience and it has been sweet!