Interesting Reading on Monitor

loneswaneast

Cathlete
I've just recently started using a heart rate monitor to measure calories burned during my various workouts and had a startling revelation yesterday.

I did Afterburn yesterday and found that my heart rate actually was much higher during the compound exercise/strength portions of the circuits than it was during the cardio sections.

Is this strange or is it old knowledge I just never knew about?

Also, I hiked for 4 hours today and burned 1700 calories. I should reduce that total by about 600 calories that I would have normally burned for those four hours, but still......a really nice way to burn.

Ah!!! I just got the Polar FT4 based on a thread here. I started playing with it and was disappointed to see I was NOT burning the calories I thought I would using the Cathe compendium as a guide for calories burned. I had to do the math to get my target heart rate. Boy, I have to work hard to get up to my target!!! Holy crap.....think IMAX 3! However, I have other instructors I work out to as well and was pleasantly surprised to see how my heart rate got up and stayed up.

I also noticed how my heart rate would come down just a tad after cardio but then 30 seconds into compound weights...I start getting the little beeps again telling me my rate just went back up. It's an interesting little tool that will keep me honest for sure. I'm having fun with it. I haven't used it with Afterburn yet.....YIKES!

Last edited:
True

Yes, I have been getting low numbers from workouts I thought would give me higher numbers also, but I think it may be because I'm 64 and age is a factor. I just don't burn nearly as much as I used to and it takes forever to lose a pound.