Hysterectomy?

Lisa11

Cathlete
Hi everyone - I would love to hear from any of you that have had a hysterectomy what your recovery experience was. I have to have an abdominal hysterectomy in January. I'm keeping my ovaries so I don't have to worry about menopause yet, and I'm an OR nurse so I know exactly what is going to happen in the operating room, but I'm getting really anxious about recovery. Of course I'm freaked about not being able to exercise intensely for six weeks. I have heard from other people everything from it was no big deal to it was really hard, but I haven't talked to anyone who exercises and I'm hoping being fit makes recovery a little easier? I'll take any advice you have.

Thanks!

Lisa

Hi Lisa,

I had a complete hysterectomy 3 1/2 years ago. It was done vaginally. For me, the actual surgery was not all that painful. I stayed in the hospital one night and after discharge I only used tylenol for discomfort.

The first week I felt very "tight," it was difficult to stand up straight or sit upright too long. But, by the end of the second week I was dying to work out. I really felt ready and I wanted to "listen to my body." My surgeon absolutely refused to give me the okay to do anything other than walking. Her reasoning was that even though my "fit" pre-surgery body felt ready to get back into working out, my newly stitched "insides" had not healed completely enough to exercise safely. I, of course, did not listen, I am a personal trainer and felt I knew my capabilities. Um, not so much! After two weeks of moderate, low impact stepping and light upper body lifting, I hit a major brick wall. I spent the 5th and 6th week recovering not from the surgery but from starting my exercise program too soon.