Back Pain and Workouts

naughtoj

Cathlete
Many of you know that I have some chronic upper back pain issues. Have had this problem since I got so lucky to have a desk job. While I do stretch, it is probably not enough cuz it still hurts. I went to doc...couldn't find anything, so it has to be muscle weakness and/or tightness. Lately, I have been waking up in the AM with a new symptom.....overall back stiffness..especially in my lower back. I feel sorta like the TinMan from Wizard of Oz!! LOL! It goes away IF I move around, but it is sort of scary feeling, as if at any moment I will turn the wrong way and tweak something.

When I started lifting, the pain subsided some, I think after I strengthened my muscles some in my back and abs. However, it has not gone away to the extent it should have. I am thinking now that the front of my body (pecs, shoulders) it WAAAAYYYY to tight and my upper back..and overall back and abs...are either stretched out, weak, and/or spasmodic(?) Probably all three.

What I am wanting to know is do you think I can give up weights for yoga/pilates? I would hate to sacrifice my hard earned muscle but it sure seems like all that muscle bulk is giving me problems!! Also, becuase my chest is tight (I have that "neanderthal" look of rounded shoulders and forward head...again, thank you deskjob) do you think I should do, say, one Cathe total body a week, but cut down on the chest work and sub in some more back work?? Makes sense that if one side is stronger than the other you should work them differently atleast until the opposing muscles can catch up.??

Specifically, I am wanting to do one Cathe weight workout...maybe 2 HOT YOGA classes, a bit of pilates, a dash of cardio, Ab Ripper X, Core Synergistics, my Stability Ball core workouts..