Anyone an Occupational Therapy Assistant?

Armywife

Cathlete
Is anyone here an Occupational Therapy Assistant or has a friend or family member who is one? I was looking at this job and would like more information about it. Any help would be great. I hope you all are having a great weekend!!!

Not an assistant but I am an occupational therapist. I am Canadian so our system is quite different from the USA which I'm assuming is where you are from. I do sit on the national board for occupational therapy which is in the process of developing national accrediation standards for the occupational therapy assistant programs. If I could help I would be happy too. Do you have any specific questions? Kim

Basically I was just wondering what exactly the assistants do. What does the job entail, etc. I started my nursing degree but then went into the Army and became a medical laboratory technician and got my associates degree. After being out of the Army since 2001 and being a stay-at-home mom (my kids are now both in school), I am now looking to go back to school. I want to do something in the medical field but don't want to invest four more years into a degree and lots of money. I was researching different jobs in the Occupational Outlook Handbook online and I came across the job of Occupational Therapy Assistant. It sounds interesting and I found a school near me with an associates program. I was wondering if anyone was in this field to get an idea of what it is like, is it rewarding, etc. Thanks for any input you may have. I would greatly appreciate it!

Instead of writing out a lengthy description, try checking out this website www.otworks.ca