Any recommendations on group exercise music??

Clarissa

Cathlete
I had an interview today at a local fitness center. They want me to get my foot in the door by teaching a "boot camp" or "plyometric" class one or two days a week! (OMG!)
I have no experience doing so, and only have my personal training certificate. They said it was okay, cuz in Ohio you don't need to actually be certified. nonetheless, I have no experience.

ANy suggestions on where/how to find a good CD that has upbeat AND familiar tunes on it?? (also any tips on group exercise would be much appreciated!!)
Have a fun weekend! Clarissa :)

I like to use powermusic.com and dynamixmusic.com. They both have a wide variety of premixed 32 count continuous play CDs. You may also want to go to turnstep.com and check out the forum and search for "new instructor". You will find a great amount of useful info on that site. Have fun teaching and I am sure that you will do great! Oh, and practice, practice, practice.

BKHowe.com

My students and I love the stuff I have from there. I love their 80's mixes!!!

Oh, and I think the thing about teaching classes ( I teach 8 per week now!) is to be motivating with positive reinforcement and to encourage progression without pushing TOO hard. My students all tell me that I never make them feel intimidated, which they say other instructors have, but I make them WANT to do more than they thought possible. Honestly, that is the best compliment I can think to get!!

Also, as much one on one attention/correction as possible. People need to feel like you care about what they are doing, even the ones who try to hide in the back. I always take notice of form and gently correct, even if I do it in a "general" way for some who need that.

Well, good luck!! You will do great and you will find YOUR own style of teaching in no time!!