Barbells

Beth1

Cathlete
I have never used a barbell before and want one. Where can I get one that will be compatable with Cathe's workouts. Where does everyone else buy them from. I've looked at ones in Modell's and Sport's Authority (I live in NYC) but what they sell are 110lb sets -that seems a bit excessive.
:)

Hi Caren,

I purchased mine at Walmart for 20 bucks. It is a 55 pound set. I haven't had any problems with it at all. You can order it at Walmart.com too, but it costs like $20 for shipping.

HTH
Aila

Thank you. I never thought I'd ever be asking this question - have been "lifting" for years, but only did my first Cathe workout last Spring and I cannot believe the changes that have occured physically and emotionally - I have never felt so fit before, and am ready for the next step.

I just got my set also from Walmart. My Walmart didn't carry it so I had to pay the $20 for shipping.....but honestly, at $43.00 total...I wasn't going to find something even close to that price, so I'm happy! It also only took 5 days to get here...during the holiday....so that was cool too!

~Stephanie~

"Happiness is knowing what you are doing next without me saying it!" - Cathe

I also asked this question today on the open forum. You might want to check out the thread on that: "Where can I get a decent barbell". I ordered from the amazon link attached by a kind soul and got an 80 pound set for less than $28, INCLUDING shipping. Not sure if there are too many Wal-Marts in NYC!

Susan

Caren,
Do you live near a fitness specialty store? When I bought mine, it was at a fitness store that only sold equipment and I was able to buy just a barbell - they sold a lot of individual equipment for that matter unlike places like Sports Authority. It wasn't a chain store though.

Jo

I want to get started using barbells so much, that I did the same thing yesterday - thanks to the very first reply I also ordered the