What Brand Barbell Is Used in Cathe's Workouts

Mama

Cathlete
I am looking to purchase a barbell. I saw a 55 lb. barbell set (Duracast) online; however, I'm concerned that the straight bar comes in two pieces. I'm new to this and I'm not certain what to look for. Also, what amount of barbell weights should I invest in for starters? Does anyone know what brand barbells Cathe uses? Thanks. Any other advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mama

Dear Fitness Jedi,

Thank you. I just checked out the site you mentioned and am considering a future purchase. I just ordered the Lo Max and Muscle Max DVDs and hope that I can handle the choreography. I haven't worked out in about four weeks -- I've been playing Nurse Rachett to my husband's broken ankle.

There are a few things that I've written down in my wish list -- I like to have the proper tools to do the "job" right. The fitness site you suggested had most of the things I would need in the near future. Thanks again.

Mama:)

Hi Mama!

I actually know the answer to this because I asked this same question before. Believe it or not it is the $20.00 bar bell set from Walmart. It is a 55 lbs set and great for the price. My Walmart did not carry it in stock (nor the other three that I checked in Reno, NV) so I had to order it from Walmart.com. I think the total cost to ship and purchase was about $50.00, much less expensive than some of the other types I was looking at. The bar also comes in two pieces, but that has been no problem. I really like the fact that the clip is pretty easy to use (even though I have to use both hands sometimes since my grip is really weak)

Good luck.

I wondered if that was the one!! I am excited now - that might be my next purchase :) I have a barbell for bicep curl that i have been using - the Olymic one from Scheels, but I hate the curve it has when I want a straight bar - its been a pretty good sub, but I want the straight one too!!!

Hi Mama:D (I LOVE posting that:7)