Weight training and bulk

Shara

Hi Cathe, I am new to your videos but already am a serious fan!! In your PS Legs and Abs video, you mention that if you are one of those people who feels they get bulky from weights, to go lighter or use no weights. I fit this category of developing muscle quickly but try to balance it with running. I have also heard that the "bulky phenomenon" is a myth, that we shouldn't fear weights. I like to lift heavy but do mix it up with light/high rep training, as well. What is your take on this? I want definition but I don't want to increase in size. I know muscle takes up less room so is it a matter of burning off more fat to stay lean looking? Thanks for any input,
Shara

Hi Shara!! I don't mean to butt in, but I also develope muscle fairly easily. I go as heavy as I can with the PS Series, and while I have noticed muscle growth, it's not that people are having a hard time telling wether I'm a man or not:)!
IMHO, You will not bulk up enough to look like hercules if you go heavy, and to get definition, you must keep your bodyfat low.
I also think that mixing up you weights and reps is a great thing to do!! Keeps your body guessing. Sounds to me like you're doing fine, just remember what Cathe also says in that video,"Don't be afraid to train with heavier weights, they do nice things for you!"
Have a good one!!

Aimee

Thanks, Aimee, for your input!! I agree that keeping the bodyfat low will help with definition. In the past, I haven't paid enough attention to nutrition so ended up larger and blamed it on weight-training. I know, now, that it was the junk I was consuming!! I'll keep on mixing it up with weights and see how I do. Cathe's tapes are wonderful, aren't they!! :)
Shara

Hi Shara! I think you are right on the money. The combination of heavy weight training mixed up with light/hi rep training, plus some running and clean diet will definitely point you in a positive direction to bring you the results you are looking for. Good Luck!