Swimming for weight loss/strength gains?

missyb70

Cathlete
We recently bought a house with an inground swimming pool. I've been doing Cathe workouts for several years but was thinking about incorporating some pool workouts into my routine. I don't really know how to "swim" as far as actual strokes and breathing, etc., but my Shape magazine last month had a workout that was more drill-type exercises than actual swimming - - running, jumping, etc. However I've done some research online and the consensus seems to be that swimming is not good for weight loss (and could actually increase appetite??). It seems like swimming would be a great cardio workout to me. I'm also wondering how it fares in terms of a resistance/strength workout? Or would I be better off sticking with my cardio and weight DVDS to see real results? Do you have any thoughts/knowledge on this subject? I should mention I'm looking for25 lbs weight/fat loss and of course strength/muscle gains. Thanks!

Congrats on the pool!

I think the jury is out on weight loss when swimming. Personally, I have known many who have lost weight, but many who havent'. I personally did, but when I swim, it is NOT an easy, slow stroke, I swim all out for 2500 yards. I have been a daily lap swimmer for 25 years (this sept). My mom is also a daily swimmer and while she doesn't need to lose any weight, she is 75 and swims competitively. She also takes yoga, pilates and strength classes.

What swimming has done for me: ENDURANCE. No question about it, my endurance is very very high. I will not lift the most weight, or run the fastest (or swim the fastest although I would say I am faster than 90% or more of the swimmers at my YMCA)....but I will outlast just about anyone, and I'm 52. I think it has made my heart very strong. As for my mom, she DOES have some heart issues, and has had them since I was a teenager, and has had 2 laser surgeries on her heart and her cardiologist told her her heart is as strong as a bull's.