sore knees

VickyWI

Cathlete
I have been working out regularly for three years now. I do step and weight lifting five times a week. I moved my workout "room" to our basement which is cement with carpet and padding. Recently I noticed that my knees ache? They are not really hurting during working out but I can "feel" them. I can even feel them sometimes going up and down the stairs. They don't always feel this way and they aren't so intense that I need to quit the stepping during the DVD. I don't know how to describe it as it really isn't painful, just tender. Anyway, I moved all my step aerobics back upstairs so that I am not jumping etc on the cement. Do I need to quit step all together and get an elliptical? Should I lower my weights? I am trying not to panic. I LOVE step and really don't want to quit but I don't want to have to have knee surgery in the future either. I NEED to workout, it is my stress reliever!! What should I do?

i only do cardio or lower body 3X a week like mon-step,wed circuit(circuitmax,sjp,mm,me,etc.),fri kb.upper body sun and tues,yoga thurs. i find mic high/low part not hard on knees so i might add that in with weights. just doing cardio every other day i do not have knee pain anymore.

laura

Not Cathe here, but I also excersize in the basement. Mine is carpet remnants from upstairs over a cement floor. OWIE!!! My basement isnt finished, obviously. I ended up putting puzzle mats under the carpet. Took about 4 packages of 4 to cover all the room I need, but made a !big! difference, especially for anything with any kind of impact. Feels a little wierd at first, btu you get used to it. Just makes sure it covers all the space, so your're not stumbling over the edges. Just my 2 cents.

I did the same thing in my basement but my floor is finished with tile and the puzzle mat slips..any ideas on how to fix...i've tried everything...thanks amber