Running vs. Stepping

kimyenchu

Cathlete
Hello Cathe,

I would like your opinion if possible on this. I have been running for a few months, but I find the running incredibly painful on my legs and knees (I recently purchased arch supports and they seemed to help somewhat), but I still have to take 1-2 days off from running and stepping after my run. I would like to know if this means that I am, possibly, not cut out for running.

I joined a running club a few months ago and they are very good runners. Despite my previous step experience, I found that I could not run as fast as them. I am improving all the time, but I cannot speed up my progress because I cannot do more than maybe 2 (3 max) runs a week.

Is stepping as affective as running? I seem to work harder when I run than when I step. Which of your tapes would come close to giving me the same cardio as running: I have Circuit Max DVD, BodyMax DVD, RS DVD and Cardio Hits DVD. I love stepping for the choreography, but running for the cardio challenge. Furthermore, I don't suffer (except for the occasional twinge) leg and knee pains when I step - I could do it everyday.

Will my body get use to running the more I run? Many people on the forum have given me very useful advice, but I would like to hear your opinion.

TIA

Yen

Running is hard on my lower body as well. I don't like stepping. I've picked up kickboxing and jumping rope as my primary cardio exercises. They seem to be less stressful on my body than stepping and running.

Crystal

I'm not Cathe, but . . .