Question about glute raises in GS Legs

munchkin928

Cathlete
I've really been enjoying the GS Legs workout, although I'm a beginner/intermediate so I'm working my way up on some of the exercises. I had a question about the glute raises though - whenever I do this move, I feel it in my thighs and glutes, but I also feel it a lot in my lower back. The pain never lasts past the workout, so it's not a huge concern, but I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong.

I don't have a high step, so I use a step stool that is 11 1/2 inches tall to put my leg on (I'm 5'2"). I also pushed the step stool up against my couch, because in previous workouts it was sort of walking away from me and I thought maybe that was the source of the back pain. I also know that my core could use some strengthening - I definitely can't handle all of Cathe's core workouts just yet, so maybe that's a contributing factor. I also feel the roll ins/outs which immediately follow the glute raises in my lower back, but I can't tell if that's just because it's already fatigued.

Anyways, if Cathe or anyone else has any form pointers or advice for me I'd be very grateful. Thanks!

Needing to continue developing strength in your core would definitely lead to a fatiguing effect in the back during some of these floor exercises. However, it is wrong to think that your muscle groups exist in isolation to each other. Your lower back connects to your glutes so it is perfectly normal for you to feel some of the fatigue in your lower back. I do also with glute and hamstring work. I expect I will continue to do so as I am recovering from an injury and am currently working on strengthening all these areas whose original weakness lead t the injury. As long as you are still primarily fatiguing the target muscle group (hamstrings/glutes) and the fatigue in the lower bakc disappears quite quickly after the workout, then I don't see you have anything to be worried about.

Clare