Quarter Deadlifts and PS Legs

K

KHB

I know you guys will think I am behind the times, but I just got my first Cathe tape. I had been too intimidated by comments of her being "killer" and incredibly dancy and fast. I thought a strength tape would be a good introduction.

I have never done quarter deadlifts before this tape, but I think my form is right. I did it in front of a mirror and my form was like Cathe's. However, I do not feel it in my hamstrings; I feel it in my lower back. I have done this tape 3 times and each time, my lower back was sore the next day. Any thoughts on what I may be doing wrong?

Side note: I love how Cathe says to hold on to the leg I just worked when stretching between floor work to be certain I work the other leg. My muscles are so fatigued at that point -- she does not need to worry that I will work the same leg twice!

DeadLifts

Hi,
This is my favorite exercise for legs. I just love those deadlifts! My advice (at least what works for me ) is to make sure you're not coming all the way straight-up during the deadlift (which will activate more of the back muscles). I bring the barbell about 4 inches above my knees and back down until I feel a nice stretch in my hamstrings. In addition, I make sure to really tighten my gluteus muscles to bring the weight back up. Since this is probably a new exercise for you, I am sure that you will feel it in your back for a while. Your back muscles are used to assist in the movement to a certain extent. The goal is learn how to activate the hamstring muscles more than the back. I think everyone is different and practice will make perfect.
I hope this helps and goodluck!
Susan

from article in M&F Hers...

Romanian Deadlift

Muscles worked: Hamstrings, low back, glutes