Overtraining?

Marla

Hi Cathe and workout buddies:

I do the IMax once a week. I use a heartrate monitor. My heart rate can go up between 180-185. I noticed though that sometimes I cannot get it past 170. I am 40 years old and workout 6 days a week. Cardio 6x's and weights 2x's. I also walk 3 days/4 miles (15 minutes/mile) in the afternoons. AND, I have a 4 year old who demands alot of fun time. My question is...Do you think I am overtraining when I can't reach my potential on those days?

I feel great thanks to all your help.

Sincerely,
Marla :)

At your age or 40 your heart rate should really not exceed 145 bpm. At 180 bpm you are excercising at anaerobically and are burning muscle, not fat. I do think maybe you should slow it down a bit. It would be interesting to see what other people have to say, but IMHO I think you might be overtraining. Do you feel tired, depressed? What is your resting heart rate? Again, I am not an expert, but base my opinions on articles that I have read in the past.

At your age of 40 your heart rate should really not exceed 145 bpm. At 180 bpm you are excercising anaerobically and are burning muscle, not fat. Maybe you should slow it down a bit. It would be interesting to see what other people have to say, but IMHO I think you might be overtraining. Do you feel tired, depressed? What is your resting heart rate? Again, I am not an expert, but base my opinions on articles that I have read in the past.

Oop! sorry about the double post. I tried to edit my first post, but couldn't for some reason.